January 19, 2011

  • Hey, how about a regular ol’ chatty post?

    Haven’t done one of those in ages!

    Lots happening – Today is Faron’s last day at Grizzly – the tension at work for the past year has been increasing almost daily and finally he couldn’t tolerate it any longer.  It’s rather scary to be looking for a new job in this economy and at his age, but, as he says, we are going to trust the Lord on this and just do it! 

    Prayers for a new job with much less stress would be greatly appreciated.  I’ve said it a dozen times since he made this decision – one thing I know of for sure, is that my husband would flip burgers at McDonalds before he’d let our bills go unpaid, so in the larger sense, I’m not worried.  But I would like him to be happy in his work.  He’s put out a few applications and will of course continue to do so. 

    As the Lord would have it, Faron’s Uncle Lee died Sunday morning and will be buried on Friday. (Which was to have been Faron’s last day.)  Tomorrow, Faron and his sister Deb are driving to Pittsburgh to bring their Aunt Ruth back so she can be at her brother’s funeral.  She’ll stay here with us through Sunday.  We haven’t seen her since she moved out there almost 10 years ago so we’re looking forward to the visit despite the circumstances.  His Uncle Jack is on his way from Florida, and we look forward to visiting with him, too.  That’s the weird thing about funerals – it’s such a great opportunity to see those we care about but haven’t seen for one reason or another. 

    We both had nasty colds after Christmas and then I put my back out (just a pulled muscle) two weeks ago being a doofus.  (I tried to move a heavy television by myself, being impatient for someone to help – I’d have had to WAIT!  Imagine me, impatient! So the first part of the year has been kind of a wash for me but I have managed to do some claying – this piece in particular I’m quite pleased with.  It’s my entry for the February Challenge.  (I”ll post links for voting closer to the time – for once I’m finished and entered nearly 10 days ahead of the deadline!)  The challenge theme is “Critters/Wings,” and mine qualifies on both counts.  :)

    This view shows off the wings – a first for me, using a resin product called MagicGlos, fusible fibers and pearly mica flakes on a wire frame.  I like them. 

    And these are just two other shots showing more of the dragon herself – her name is….Fleur! (Clever, ain’t I?)

    I chose this shot for my entry photo. 

    Other than claying and trying to keep my stuff organized (I got a new convection toaster oven (the polymer clay artist’s dream oven!) that now is in my room, instead of having to use the oven in the kitchen, and it necessitated some re-organization.  I wish I could say I got rid of a lot of stuff but, alas, there’s not much in this room I don’t consider NECESSARY.  :)  

    I will need to go through my clothes again, though.  I got a lot for Christmas – including two jackets!  One, an anorak, was only $8.99 on sale and is a perfect three season coat.  The other, an equally great bargain, is a beautiful burgundy leather swing coat.  Yummy!  :) One of my Dercum’s buddies received it as a gift and it didn’t fit her well, so she sold it for a phenomenal price of $45!  I’ve always really wanted a leather coat but the practical side of me wouldn’t admit it, as they are pricey for as often as I’d wear it.  For that price, I can live with it not being worn daily. 

    So that’s life in Cogan Station this week. 

    me<><

Comments (2)

  • Thanks be to God for your happy heart and home!

  • That dragon is darling.

    I think that Faron is correct in leaving an unhappy job. Even in this economy there are jobs to be had and it sounds like he needed a break. Even tho it is a sad occasion, I hope that you enjoy getting to visit with Faron’s family.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *