April 17, 2006

  • He is Risen!

    And the Meyer clan parties.  IMAGINE that! 

    We have been having an egg hunt at Hazel’s every year for close to 20 years.  I have many many photos from Easters at Hazel’s that all look much the same – gloomy day, green grass, lots of bundled up folks.  Well, this year, ‘twarn’ like that!

    Rachel, Zach, Aaron and Jennie were loving the beautiful weather with which we were blessed.  And check out that pool…not too many more weeks before the cover comes off!

    The bunny made an appearance again, although it wasn’t Uncle Faron within.  He opted out.  Last I heard, Aunt Hazel hadn’t figured out who was in that costume…let’s see if she sees this and responds.  :)

    That’s Zach, btw, about to be accosted by the bunny.  I didn’t include the next shot – he wasn’t overly impressed.  But I get ahead of myself in my rush to show a photo of the bunny.

    First, Robin got me settled under the chinese apple tree.

    “Need a pillow?” 

    And Jeff and Cody watch just to make sure she does it right.  They all take good care of me.  I wore slippers, btw.  Shoes just couldn’t cut it. Cody, btw, has the “secret service” look goin’ ON, doncha think?  Shades, earphones, casual stance…

    This is pretty much the whole gang, in anticipation.  ON THE SIDEWALK, please.  WATCH WHERE YOU STEP, Uncle Mel.  The lawn is positively paved with chocolate.  ;)   And rapidly melting chocolate, to boot.

    As the youngest, Magaly starts things off, grabbing strategically placed bubbles and other small gifts, right along with a good bit of chocolate. 

    Aaron does ok getting his bag filled up.  (There are cute buckets somewhere, but they’re too small for the likes of these egg hunters – they need GROCERY bags!)
     
                                     

    See, Ron’s got a bucket. He has all he wants here – he’s just callin’ it quits.  While his heart is a little kid wanting to hunt eggs, his body is 35 years old and wants to sit with the old folks!

                                        

    Miss Jennie did quite all right getting her bag filled.  Again way too much candy.  You’ll have to ask Jason, Terri, Stacy, Justin, Ethan or Stefan about their renewed affinity to Pixie Sticks…

    One of the things about my family that is wonderful is that the kids kind of naturally bring their loot over to me so I can check it out.  I can’t roam the hunt like I used to – so they come to me. :)

    Cody still has his cool in place, but he’s not above checkin’ out his little brother’s haul. :)

    A group went for a walk to throw stones in the creek after the egg hunt. Jason was following – hence the photos. (I didn’t take many – these are all Jason’s, btw) and Hazel ambled on down for a bit later, and Zach came trotting after Aunt Robin right after this photo was taken.

    Anyone with half a brain knew that “throwing stones” would not be enough.  Uncle Mel watches while Zach dips his toes in, while Rachel’s showing off out in the middle along the old dam.

    I am putting a lot of these “creek” photos here – they’re gorgeous.  I hope you enjoy them, too.

    Now we see the kids getting bolder, easing further out into the creek…

    And hey, Gordon kids…

                                 

    ROBIN in the creek at FISHERS!  Kinda seems right somehow, don’t it? 

                               

    And I just liked this one of Rachel perched there on that big rock.  :)

    So we have Rachel and Zach making their way across the creek – Rachel daintily going along the ridge of the dam…

    Zach took a more direct route.

    He “slipped” is how I heard it, but Jason said his mouth never stopped the whole time. He loved it. :)

    Amazing to see those kids play on Deer Island!  I have history books that mention my father’s great uncle helping to pull ice from this little bit of Lycoming Creek for the village 150 years ago.  And here we have my father’s great-grandchildren poking around there like great adventurers.  What a blessing!

    And while all that was going on,

    Maggie and Ron both love throwin’ “stones ina creek” Maggie got her feet wet, too.  Tights, sandals and all.  :)  

                         

    Now, I don’t know the full story about why Maggie was zippin’ down the hill at Fishers toward the creek.  Her dad was standing there, so maybe she needed him real bad.  But it reminds me of the little girls in the opening of “Little House On The Prairie,” when they come galloping down the hill, with the little Carrie having her arms out, just like this. 

    There was a “peanut gallery” by the front door most of the time we were outdoors.

    You can only see my brother-in-law Bill with our niece Penny but I think one or two of Penny’s kids are there too.

    Hazel got each of the kids a special little present.  Here she is helping Maggie to string the foam beads she got for her.

    They finished the job, too.  Very cute.  Maggie sat there and was right into it.  Very very cute.  Hazel’s such a wonderful grandma.

    And then Maggie was in for her dose of baby-torture, a la` Aunt Robin.

    “Gonna bore a hole and I don’t know where, think I’m gonna bore a hole….right….through….THERE!”  You can see how much Magaly hates it.

    And then Ethan and Stefan were doing … SOMETHING with their skateboards off the back of Jason’s truck.

    And now Ethan:

    And now a few photos I just like…

    Ethan with a big grin.

                                             

    Aaron, thinkin’ deep thoughts.

    Maggie makin’ the advance on Aunt Rob.  She couldn’t decide if she’d torture Aunt Rob or the other way around. 

    I always say this at the end of one of these posts but it’s always true!  It was a good day – we had a wonderful time enjoying one another, and praising God.  We ALMOST had a hymn sing, but we’re not quite ready to become the Crain Sisters, [my mom's mother and aunts] warbling painfully slowly, and out of tune at every family reunion.  Of course, we each were able to mimic that warble without a moment’s thought!

    me<><
    -

Comments (10)

  • You can tell HK that Jan and I loved seeing her forsythia’s in full bloom.  Wish had seen y’all in H-ville yesterday.

  • Lovely photos! I love that dress you had on! It looks like you all had a picture perfect day!

  • Lovely photos! I love that dress you had on! It looks like you all had a picture perfect day!

  • Wonderful pictures!!! I miss having all of my family around (of course “all of my family is quite small now). My Katherine loved the pictures of the kids, especially Maggie and her pretty dress (for Katherine it’s all about dresses) and Ron’s bucket, she told me “his bucket is just like mine! I like that guy!”

  • Glad you had such a great day with family!! Great pics!

    We had a super day here too, sunny and warm, but Beth and I just enjoyed vegging out making fun of mindless TV shows:)Vegging is a rare occurence for both of us! Bill just laughed at us mostly–although he was right on time for our good duck dinner!

  • You guys do the holidays Right.  In fact, you do it better than Right:  if there isn’t one, you make it up. One thing I love about Christmas and Easter are the little girls in their poufy dresses.  They look like little bon-bons.  Good enough to eat, the little sweeties.

  • What a party in Pennsylvania!  And it’s so good to see you in the pictures as well!  Thanks for posting that one.

    Creek?  You call that a creek?  Down south, that would get a bigger billing, maybe even river!  But whatever you call it, it’s a kid magnet.  Fun times to be sure!

  • Thomas! Hazel would rather have SEEN YOU than have you see her forsythia, although it is beautiful. :) Sorry we missed seeing you but glad you all had a great weekend.

    Jane it was so wonderful – a beautiful day and even though I wasn’t exactly mobile I was OUTSIDE!

    Cheri, I’m told that Rachel and Jennie looked adorable in their Sunday dresses too, but they’d been long out of them by the time I saw ‘em. :) Cathy (Jennie’s mom) is sending me photos – I’ll post them when they come. And we like Ron, too.

    Liz, “vegging” is good! Glad you and that worker-bee lawyer of yours got some time to do that.

    Eleanor, you know how many times I’ve rejoiced in my family – I hope I never take them for granted. But you know what I realized this morning? We didn’t take the annual “Meyer girl” photo! We’ll have to get one when we finally go out for Clara’s birthday (which was weeks ago). Hopefully that will happen when I’m able to be out of bed more.

    Bradley, I’ve told you about our creeks and that’s not even an especially deep or wide part of Lycoming Creek! There were so many beautiful photos of that part of the day, I was hard-pressed to stop posting them. :)

    me<><

  • Wow!  That looks like so much fun!  Especially the creek bit! (we’re going to completely ignore the freaky rabbit suited thing though….kind of brawny-guyish ick! ;0) te-he.

    I’m surprised with the bright sun, and chocolate you didn’t get tons of melted chocolate on poofy dresses pictures!

    Glad you were out, you looked lovely in your dress….

    ~Noodlehead

  • That turn of the creek has always been my favorite place in the world.  I used to escape there , day or night to get some peace and quiet and have a chance to ponder the universe. 

    Last summer, I took the boys to wade and have some great shots that I’ll try to share on my site.

    Robin should get you for all those but shots!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *