April 20, 2006

  • A lesson in humility

    And a few other things!

    I have seen some beautiful examples of clay purses and containers by artists whose work I can only dream of emulating, but of course, I had to try!

    TRY is the operative word.  My first shot failed on So Many Levels. 

    My mold was wrong, so that when I baked the lid, its edges couldn’t ever match up with the base.

    It was really too small to be a purse for anyone but Magaly, if that.

    And then I decorated it with clay designs.  Umm….

    I made a very pretty seminole patchwork with which to cover it:

    Not perfect but not bad, either, for a first shot.

    So I covered the whole purse in that.

    And I should have stopped there, but I got the idea of, since it was child-sized, to put a silly/funky face on it, too…

    Silly/Funky doesn’t begin to cover it.  Several MORE things went wrong here!  I started out with the face as a unit, on my work board.  The lips were MUCH smaller than you see here, but were very 3D, and I didn’t really like that, so like a NUT I rolled it through the pasta machine. It went kinda crooked as it slid through, and then she neded up loooking like an old lady who doesn’t know how to use cosmetics.  I made little dangly earrings, too.  (We lost one of the dangles, I think in the waste basket, and since this lady is on her way there too, it didn’t seem worth my spoons to find it.) 

    I do like her turtleneck sweater.  And the dangly earrings.  And the colors. 

    I have a new mold made. It’s much bigger and I’ve allowed for the lid and the base on one mold so they will at least end up the same size!  And, no adornments will end up on my new purse until I’m SURE they work!

    me<><

Comments (6)

  • Keep trying!  You know, I know someone who looks like that….

  • Okay, I think that she is quite lovely and gives me warm feelings just looking at her. She puts her makeup on much like my nana did when she got older. The Seminole patchwork looks neat.

  • ROFLOL!  Yup, those lips are something else.

    But really Cindy, your skills amaze me.  Keep up the good work!

  • No, no, no, Cindy!  You WANT that.  That’s what makes them one-of-a-kind.  Keep going just like that and I guarantee you’ll have buyers eating out of your hand.  This isn’t about Perfect– it’s about personality, and the face has LOADS of it.

  • I don’t think it looks bad at all.  I like the colors.  But I don’t want one, thanks all the same.  At least you remembered to put in a ruler this time.

  • You don’t want one?? I was getting it ready to ship, too.

    Disloyalty abounds.

    me<><

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *